By using the Train World website you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. For more information about the cookies we use and manage, please read our full cookie policy.

Heritage days

In keeping with the theme of “Meeting Points”, this year’s Heritage Days – the 33rd – celebrate gathering places of all kinds, from public spaces, parks, markets, cafés, literary clubs, ballrooms, function rooms and theatres through to visiting rooms, counter halls, boardrooms, meeting rooms, drawing and reception rooms, as well as iconic locations of collective experience.

The ticket hall of the Schaerbeek station

The original Schaerbeek station was built in 1887, replacing a small wooden construction. It makes up the left wing of the current building and was constructed to plans by Belgian State Railways architect Franz Seulen.

He was called upon again in 1913, this time to draw up plans for a new wing for the existing building to house the ticket hall, during a period when both passenger and goods traffic were on the up. The Flemish neo-Renaissance station building combines stone and brick architecture with a monumental metal structure. The complex interplay of roofs gives it a very distinctive appearance. Until 2000, sleeper trains to France and Italy left from Schaerbeek/Schaarbeek station, with the many travellers and their families meeting up in the vast ticket hall.

Nowadays, they have been replaced with railway history enthusiasts rediscovering this elegant construction. That is because, having undergone a series of major restorations, the station is now home to the railway museum Train World, for which the original buildings have been carefully restored and adapted to their new use. (Listed 10/11/1994)

 

Heritage Days in Train World

Free access to the ticket hall of the former Schaerbeek station.
Train World also offers free guided tours of the station and its surroundings.

When? Saturday 18/09 and Sunday 19/09, from 10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Guided tours: Sat. & Sun. at 11:00 and 14:00 (in English); 10:30, 11:30, 13:30, 14:30 and 15:30 (in French); 10:00, 11:00, 13:00, 14:00 and 15:00 (in Dutch).

Access only through guided tours and upon reservation on the heritagedays.urban.brussels website.

Need more information? Contact us:

  • By calling: +32 (0) 2 224 75 88 or +32 (0) 2 224 75 86 (from Monday to Friday, from 09:00 to 12:00 and from 13:00 to 16:00)
  • E-mail: info@trainworld.be

 

Today we're open from 10:00 until 17:00 (last admission at 15:30).

close

En utilisant ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies conformément à notre politique de vie privée sur le site SNCB. Pour plus d'informations sur les cookies utilisés sur ce site et sur la gestion de ceux-ci, veuillez lire notre politique en matière de cookies.

Heritage Days

Avec la thématique « Meeting points », cette 33e édition des Journées du Patrimoine / Heritage Days met à l’honneur les espaces publics : parcs, marchés, cafés, cercles littéraires, salles de bal, théâtres, etc., mais aussi des lieux plus confidentiels tels que les parloirs, les salles de guichets, les salons privés ou de réception,...

La salle des pas perdus de la gare de Schaerbeek

Remplaçant une petite construction en bois, la première gare de Schaerbeek voit le jour en 1887. Elle correspond à l’aile gauche de l’édifice actuel et fut érigée d’après les plans de Franz Seulen, architecte des Chemins de fer de l’État belge.

Celui-ci est à nouveau sollicité en 1913 pour dresser les plans d’une nouvelle aile au bâtiment existant, qui abritera la salle des guichets, à une époque où le transport de voyageurs et de marchandises ne cessait de croître. De style néo-Renaissance flamande, la gare combine une architecture de pierres et de briques à une structure métallique monumentale. Le jeu complexe des toitures lui donne un aspect tout à fait caractéristique. Jusqu’en l’an 2000, les trains auto-couchettes à destination de la France et de l’Italie partaient de la gare de Schaerbeek. Les nombreux voyageurs et leurs familles se donnaient rendez-vous dans la vaste salle des guichets.

Aujourd’hui, ce sont les passionné∙es d’histoire ferroviaire qui redécouvrent l’élégant édifice. Car après avoir subi une série de restaurations d’envergure, la gare accueille aujourd’hui Train World, le musée des Chemins de fer. Les bâtiments d’origine ont été restaurés avec soin et adaptés à leur nouvelle affectation. (Classé – 10/11/1994)

 

Les Heritage Days à Train World

Accès gratuit à Salle des guichets de l’ancienne gare de Schaerbeek.
Train World vous propose aussi des visites guidées gratuites de l'ancienne gare et de ses environs.

Quand? Samedi 18/09 et dimanche 19/09, de 10h à 15h30.

Visites guidées à 10h30, 11h30, 13h30, 14h30 et 15h30 (français), à 10h, 11h, 13h, 14h et 15h (néerlandais) et à 11h et 14h (anglais).

Accès uniquement via les visites guidées, et sur réservation sur le site web heritagedays.urban.brussels.

Vous souhaitez plus d'informations? Contactez-nous via:

  • Téléphone: 02 224 74 37 (du lundi au vendredi, de 9h à 12h et de 13h à 16h)
  • E-mail: info@trainworld.be

 

Aujourd'hui, Train World est ouvert de 10h à 17h (dernière entrée à 15h30).

close